When you have deactivated a Facebook account, you’re no longer available on the Facebook. People can’t find your profile from it, but still feasible to send you a message from Messenger although the main Facebook account has not reactivated yet. In order to deactivate Messenger, you need do it separately from the Facebook account since it was a distinctive service.
If you only want to hide online status on Messenger, learn how to turn off Messenger status to prevent any incoming messages. I provide the most completed guide to makes you disappear from Messenger for a while but the actual account remains active.
In order to deactivate Messenger, the main Facebook account should be deactivated first. See the previous tutorial about how to deactivate Facebook account properly from Facebook desktop or application. You will also get some important information about the effect after deactivating the account.
Alright, let’s jump into the tutorial.
Note: Deactivating Messenger only available on mobile application version.
How to Deactivate Messenger
A short guide to deactivate Facebook Messenger account:
- Open Messenger application on your phone
- Tap your profile picture icon
- Select Privacy & Terms
- Select Deactivate Messenger
- Tap Deactivate
A complete guide to deactivate Facebook Messenger account:
First, log in to Facebook Messenger app on your Android or iOS device. Then, tap the profile picture icon which located next to search bar.
Scroll down and select Privacy & Terms.
Until here, I’m pretty sure you can guess which one should you pick, yep – Deactivate Messenger.
The Messenger will inform you that consequences of deactivating the account. Next, tap Deactivate.
You will be automatically logged out and no longer available on Messenger.
What happens when I deactivate Messenger?
Your Messenger account will be completely hidden and no one can find you from it. Your chat history and any other information that previously stored on the Messenger is safe in Facebook’s database. Once you logged in to the Messenger, the information will be restored normally without losing any data.
Remember, that when you log in to Messenger, it will reactivate both Facebook and Messenger account at the same time. Activating Messenger can be performed by the mobile application and desktop version.