How to Deactivate Facebook Account

How to Deactivate Facebook Account: 10 Steps

Many and many people walking with the eye pointing at their phone, scrolling an infinite page of Facebook, hoping to get some funny video or viral photos that they love. According to the recent study, average people in the world spent over 2 hours a day for social media. In fact, this number is growing every year along with user has registered on a particular social media platform. For me, I personally use Facebook for almost every day and spent few hours on it. Until I realize that the team behind it is designed this platform to be addictive. The longer you use Facebook, the more ads you view, and more money the company receives. After figuring out several benefits leaving social media, I decided to deactivate Facebook account.

When I writing this article, I almost 5 months leaving Facebook and other social media, such as Instagram and Twitter. You might wonder, does I’m happy? Without funny videos, no memes, less information I got, I completely happier than when using social media. But how can it’s possible?

As it turns out, much scientific research agrees that quitting social media will makes you happy. A recent study named The Burden of Online Friends suggest that people who take off from Facebook have a lower stress level. Another research also says that quitting Facebook leads to higher levels of well-being.

If you looking tips to increasing productivity, deactivating the Facebook account for a while is a really good idea. It’s also recommended for people that have a serious duty and expecting free-distraction environment for work.

Here’s a guide to deactivate Facebook account from app and desktop PC.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account on App

A short guide to deactivate Facebook account on the app:

  1. Open Facebook on Android or iOS device
  2. Log in to your account
  3. Tap the three horizontal lines icon
  4. Select Settings & Privacy
  5. Tap Account Settings
  6. Tap General option
  7. Select Manage Account
  8. Input your Facebook password and Continue
  9. Select the reason why leaving Facebook
  10. Tap Deactivate when done

A short complete to deactivate Facebook account on the app:

Open the Facebook application on Android phone or iOS, log in to your account. Then, tap the three-horizontal lines icon to open the menu.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Scroll down the menu and select Settings & Privacy. It will expand the additional menu.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Tap Account Settings.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Next, select General option.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Select Manage Account.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Now, tap Deactivate.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Facebook will ask you to fill the password for security reason. After you input the account password, tap Continue.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Select a reason or motivation why you want to deactivate the Facebook account. You can also explain other reason if not listed.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

When done, tap Deactivate to proceed deactivating account.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

You will be automatically logged out. It’s mean the account has been disabled and no longer appear on Facebook.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account on Desktop

A short guide to deactivate Facebook account on desktop PC:

  1. Open Facebook web page
  2. Log in to your account
  3. Click the upside-down triangle icon on the upper bar
  4. Select Settings
  5. Select Manage Account
  6. Click Deactivate your account
  7. Fill the password then Continue
  8. Select the reason why leaving Facebook
  9. Click Deactivate
  10. Click Deactivate Now to confirm

A complete guide to deactivate Facebook account on desktop PC:

Open Facebook website on desktop PC. Log in to your account. Click the upside-down triangle icon on the upper bar and select Settings.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

On General Account Settings, select Manage Account.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Scroll down and click Deactivate your account.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Facebook will ask password to ensure that it was actually you. Then, click Continue.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Choose the reason why you want to leave Facebook. Then, click Deactivate.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

Click Deactivate Now to temporarily deactivate Facebook account.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

You will be automatically logged out and the Facebook profile will disappear soon. Then, what will happen to your account?

What happens after deactivating Facebook account?

Here’s the breakdown of what happened to your Facebook account after it deactivated:

  • People can’t find you on Facebook
  • Your profile or posts that indexed by the search engine will disappear
  • Your posts, likes, comments, videos, and shared content will be hidden
  • None of your friends will be notified if you deactivating your account
  • Your friends, liked pages, groups, and followers will remain
  • Your names will still visible on their friend list but can’t see your profile
  • You will still able to access Messenger and chat your Facebook friends
  • But they can’t see your profile through Messenger app
  • Your profile picture still be visible on Messenger
  • The page that you manage will be hidden
  • Group admins may still able to see your posts and comments
  • Ad balances will remains
  • You probably still receive an email from Facebook

All your information that stored on Facebook will not be gone but hidden until you reactivate the account when logging in back. Once you logging in back, the account will be restored normally.

Your friends on Messenger still able to find you and send a message. In case you really want to avoid distraction from Facebook and Messenger, consider to turn off online status on Messenger so people think that you’re not available at the moment. Or learn how to deactivate Messenger account.

How many times can I deactivating Facebook account?

Unlike Instagram that only feasible to deactivate account once every week, Facebook allows to turn off and turn on your account multiple times a day. Sometimes if you have a necessary data stored on Facebook, you can log in back, take the desired data, and deactivate it after. Instead of completely deleting the account, temporarily deactivate account seems to be a great option in case you have an important data that stored on it.

I’ve been leaving Facebook and other social media for almost five months now. I admit that I less exposed from the news that regularly spread over Facebook. But the good news is, I got additional time to enhance productivity and more focused on my project. At the early phase, it’s hard to not scrolling something on the phone screen. But time by time, trust me, you will get to use it.

8

No Responses

Show all responses

Leave a Reply